Richard Makin

Richard Makin is a writer, poet and artist. His first book for Reality Street, Dwelling (see below), a long work of 'non-generic prose', became a print publication after being serialised online over a period of two years in 2011.

It was the second in a trilogy of books. The first of these was introduced serially online as 'Work in Process' by Great Works (2003-06), with a much revised and extended print version titled Work published by Equus Press in 2020. Equus also published Mourning in 2015.

Also by Richard Makin is Concussion Protocols (Alienist, 2019). A sequence of two hundred sonnets (still in progress) now has the title 'CC Sonnets'.

Download & read an extract from Dwelling (pdf)
Video of launch reading of Dwelling
A film by Lucy Clarke & Andy Moore with words by Richard Makin from Dwelling

An interview with Richard Makin by Michael Peverett 

Photo: Jennifer K Dick


Dwelling was serialised electronically by Great Works (2006-09) under the working title of ‘St Leonards’. It is the second in a trilogy of books. The others, Mourning and Work, were published by Equus Press in 2015 and 2020.

'Dwelling is an extraordinary work on a formidable scale.' (Michael Peverett, Intercapillary Space)

Poems from Richard Makin's long sequence ‘Rift Designs’ are published in The Reality Street Book Of Sonnets. Other publications include Forword and Universlipre, both from Equipage, and Concussion Protocols from Alienist.

A little preview here

2011, 978-1-874400-53-0, 672pp,  £17.50 £12